KFX 450 HQ Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to this but i have an 08kfx450 and i have a problem with the starter. when i go to start it up the starter will act like i have very low battery voltage, i went out and got a new battery and the same thing happened, its like the starter is getting stuck or hung up for a second, it will start just takes a couple of tries then it will spin fast enough to start. also i have coolant coming fron the weap hole on the water pump, its mainly when i start it to let it warm up.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
3,488 Posts
Like I mentioned on the other thread, it sounds like your auto decomp to me. As for the weep hole, I would think if the gasket was bad it'd be all the time, but that's my guess. Make sure you check your oil to see that coolant isn't getting into the cases.

·
Registered
159 Posts
It's a spring loaded weight on the Exhaust cam that makes it easier for the starter to turn over the motor... simple explanation...

·
Registered
3,488 Posts
It could be, or your bolt coulda came loose. Are you asking where to buy one of where it is located? Like he said, it's located on that exhaust cam, so just under the valve cover. If you're looking to buy one, I'd try motosport.com. Take that valve cover off and check it out first.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
well i took the valve cover off and the decomp spring is missing, i dont know if the previous owner took it out or if it broke and fell into the botom of the motor, i have riddin it probably five times like this and now it makes me nervous to run it fearing it may be in the botom of the motor and screw somthing up, any advice?

·
Registered
3,488 Posts