KFX 450 HQ Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I left from riding the other day, and drove home in the 30 degree weather for a solid 45 min. when i unloaded i heard the fan running, with no key in the ignition and it had plenty of time to cool down. Only way to kill it was to loosen the battery cables. What could cause this?

·
Registered
12,056 Posts
Stuck radiator fan relay....

It is the one with the blue wires.

·
Registered
12,056 Posts
Yeah, it is kind of stupid the way I see it, but what do I know right?
I'm no electrical engineer.

The fan relay is connected directly to battery power BEFORE the key switch.
So if the relay sticks the fan is tripped on even with the key off because the run power is supplied before the key switch.

To test the thing, simply unplug the relay.
Then borrow one from one of the two with the brown wire running in the bottom of them.

In other words swap them.

When you hook the battery back up after the swap, the fan should not run if it is the relay that was stuck.

And if it is still stuck, it should now turn the starter in some way that it should not.
In other words it might try to start without the clutch pulled in while in gear or something.

That will let you know if it is indeed the relay (hopefully) and not something more complicated.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
well, i done as suggested and swapped the far left one with blue wires(#1), with one from the far right (#4) with brown, same results, and then with the other one (#3) with brown, fans still runs on its own. Thanks for the help guys, what else you think it could be?

When i put the key in and turn the ignition on, the fan starts spinning for about 3 seconds then goes off. Then i take the key out, and within about 10 -45 seconds, the fan will kick back on. I really need help, i have to undo the battery each time I put the kfx up now.

·
Registered
651 Posts